Becoming A University

Dr. Cindy Blackstock

Setting the Foundation for Excellence: Dr. Cindy Blackstock Named NOSM University’s First Chancellor

Inaugural Board of Governors, Provost and Vice President Academic also Announced

Dr. Cindy Blackstock, renowned Indigenous child and family rights activist and member of the Gitxsan, was named NOSM University’s inaugural Chancellor on November 24, 2022.

“It is an honour to have Dr. Cindy Blackstock serve as NOSM University’s first Chancellor,” says Dr. Sarita Verma, President, Vice-Chancellor, Dean, and CEO of NOSM University. “Dr. Blackstock embodies the values of social justice, respect, and integrity. As Chancellor of NOSM University, her tenacious, inspirational leadership and steadfast moral courage will set the tone for us as Canada’s first independent medical university, and the only such institution in the country established with an explicit social accountability mandate.”

Among her innumerable accomplishments, Dr. Blackstock is the co-founder and Executive Director of the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society, and a Professor at McGill University. She begins a four-year term as Chancellor and will be installed at NOSM University’s first convocation ceremony held on May 26, 2023.

“I understand the need for compassionate holistic health care, especially in rural and remote communities. Universal health care means that every person should have access to the health care they need,” says Dr. Blackstock. “NOSM University is a major part of the solution and I’m honoured to accept this landmark appointment as Chancellor.”

NOSM University has also announced its inaugural Board of Governors. Each governor brings important experience, skills, and a commitment to the critical work NOSM University does to improve the health and wellbeing of Northern Ontarians.

The new governors who began their terms on January 1, 2023 are:

  • Craig Abotossaway
  • Imran Bagha
  • John Beaucage
  • Cindy Blackstock
  • Angela Carter
  • Kristy Côté
  • Mark Hartman
  • Mark Hurst
  • Nancy Jacko
  • Virginia May Katt
  • Ashley Larose
  • Sue LeBeau
  • Dawn Morissette
  • Shemer Ratner
  • Susan Soldan
  • John P. Stenger
  • Sarita Verma
  • Joy Warkentin

Note: John Beaucage is the first of five Lieutenant Governor in Council appointees.

Share This